As far as can be determined the Reservoir was built in about 1904 and was excavated out of almost solid granite. The structure is supported by two rows of five dolerite pillars supporting two concrete beams on which a vaulted roof rest. The cast concrete allowed water to seep through and collect in the reservoir, therefore the most important aspect that needed to be considered during the transformation of the reservoir into an exhibition space was to make it completely waterproof.
In order to allow access to the venue without damaging the existing structure they had to do excavations directly next to the reservoir. The solid rock could not be moved by ‘blasting’ as it would have lead to damage or destruction of the existing structure. Pressurised air drills were used to remove the solid rock manually.
The inside measurements of the Reservoir is 14 X 33 X 32 metres, with a surface area of 450m². The Resevoir is a unique venue for any type of event as it is in a class of its own.